Sewing Patterns · Shop · Tutorials & Patterns

DIY Suckpads for Lillebaby and Tula Carriers

Reversible Plane and Truck Suckpads
Reversible Plane and Truck Suckpads

Have you been itching to make your very own pair of totally awesome suckpads??!!  Here is THE tutorial that trumps ALL tutorials and will have you making your own set in no time!……at least I hope!  *HAHA*  If you think that making these yourself just isn’t a good idea then no worries!  You can always head on over to my Facebook shop and purchase a pair made by little ole’ me :-).  Click here to see the suckpads I have available.  If you don’t see what you want please contact me and I’ll see if I can make your dreams come true!  For those who are ready to try their hand at making a set just read on for the directions.  To purchase the full tutorial for $2.00 on my Etsy Shop click the following link —> https://www.etsy.com/listing/483853196/diy-suckdrool-pad-tutorial?ref=listings_manager_grid

How To Guide

Supply List – Makes 2 sets of Suckpads

  • 1 Fat Quarter for the Front (cotton or flannel; or you can buy off the bolt – see comment below for more info)
  • 1 Fat Quarter for the Back (cotton or flannel; or you can buy off the bolt – see comment below for more info)
    • If you don’t know what a fat quarter is don’t fret!  They are just pre-cut pieces of cotton fabric that are sized out to 18″x21″.  You can find them at Wal-Mart for $0.97 or $1.47 at the time of this post.  You can also get them at any craft or fabric store as well as places online.  If you don’t want to use a fat quarter that is ok you can purchase directly off the bolt.  If you decide to go with off the bolt I know that Wal-Mart will cut you out an 18″ inch length cut.  They will go as small as 1″ in length they just won’t cut any off the width.
  • Terry Cloth or another absorbent material
    • Ok, so you have options here.  You can just go with Terry Cloth straight off the bolt (Wal-Mart $7.97/yard as of the time of this post) or you can get creative.  If you want to recycle and reuse you can use an old bath towel or hand towel if it is big enough.  You can also buy cheap towels at Wal-Mart (Plain White Cheapies are $1.97) or Dollar Stores like the Dollar Tree.  Basically anything that is terry cloth or absorbent will do.  I know some people even use cotton batting like for quilts.
  • Snap Fasteners
  • Snap Fastener Pliers
    • Ok so technically pliers aren’t a must have.  You can do this with the cheap tool and snap set at Wal-Mart ($3.77), but fair warning…..IT SUCKS!!!  I tried it first because I just love to be cheap as much as possible but the tool broke and the snaps wouldn’t go through the fabric and fasten and AAAHHHH it was a freaking nightmare!!!!  Seriously, just get the pliers.  You will not regret it.  It is ssssoooooo much easier.  You can get pliers for the plastic snaps or the metal ones.  The pliers for the metal ones are cheaper but the snaps are more expensive and the plastic pliers are more expensive but the snaps are way cheaper and you can get them in bulk if you plan to use a lot of them.  Honestly for my purposes I wish I would have gone with the plastic ones, but once again my cheap side overruled and I couldn’t bring myself to pay the $5 more for them even though in the long run it would be cheaper because the snaps are cheaper….but I digress.  The moral of this story it GET THE PLIERS!!!!
  • Sewing Machine
    • You can do this by hand if you just REALLY want to…..but I am in serious head over heels never ending unnatural love with my sewing machine so I refuse to sew by hand unless the world is ending and Sam and Dean are mortally wounded and need me to sew them back up again…..ok ok jk….kinda….don’t mind me I’m just binge watching Supernatural again for the 2nd time and it’s that kind of night hahaha.
  • Thread
    • This one is kind of a no brainer, but it’s just the thing you always forget to pick up when you are grabbing supplies for a new project.
  • Needles
    • For this type of project I find that a Universal Sharp Point Needle in a 90/14 does the job just fine.  I used to use Singer Needles but I just got a pack of Brother Needles that I picked up from Wal-Mart that I like way better.  My stitches come out cleaner for some reason and I don’t have problems with my needle jamming or bending/breaking.  At least not yet….*knock on wood*
  • Rotary Cutter (Optional)
  • Cutting Mat (Optional)

Now that you have all of your supplies ready to go and you just can’t wait to get started lets dive in!!!!

Step 1

Go ahead and unwrap those beautiful fat quarters and iron them out good and flat.  Try and get all as much of the creases as you can, but don’t worry if you can’t get them all out completely.  They will come out in the wash.  Now most people will say pre-wash, pre-wash, pre-wash because they will shrink after washing and if your baby has sensitive skin the chemicals on the fabric can cause an allergic reaction.  If you want to pre-wash I won’t stop you, but for me and my baby I just don’t.  My kid has never needed the specialty laundry soaps and hasn’t been allergic to anything yet and I’m not really worried about shrinkage because I wash everything on cold….I mean who really has time with 2 kids running around to sort out all the whites and colors and towels and *sigh*…..No….just no.  Plus side to this is I use less detergent, my colors don’t bleed, shrinkage rarely occurs and when it does it is minimal, and it takes a lot less time to catch up all the laundry.  Anyways, back to the point.  You can pre-wash if you want to and if that is what you want to do just pencil it in as step 0 then move on.

Step 2

At this point you should have some nice flat fat quarters.  Go ahead and stack your fat quarters with the fabric right side facing in.  If you have a rotary cutter and a cutting mat like I do grab them.  If not, that’s ok just use what you got and follow along.  You should be able to get (4) 10″ x 8″ rectangles out of your fat quarters.  If you only want one set or you picked a fabric that you want to have a certain part of the design dead center then you might only be able to get it set.  However many you want to cut just make sure you can at least get (2) 10″ x 8″ cuts for 1 set.  Make sure you clean up the edges too and they are completely straight and lined up.  It will make your life so much easier when it comes time to sew so that you can get nice pretty straight stitches.  Once you have them all cut set them to the side.

Step 3 

For this step you just need to cut 2 layers of terry cloth for each suck pad to the same measurements.  If you are doing 2 sets you should have (8) 10″ x 8″ pieces.  If you are doing 1 set then you should have 4.  With the bath towels I used I was able to make 8 sets of 2.

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial preview!  To purchase the full tutorial for $2.00 on my Etsy Shop click the following link —> https://www.etsy.com/listing/483853196/diy-suckdrool-pad-tutorial?ref=listings_manager_grid

 

Leave a Reply

