Afghans and Blankets · Blog · Free Tutorials & Patterns

How To Crochet A Bernat Baby Blanket Using The Crunch Stitch

Photos Coming Soon!!

Introduction

Hi everyone!  I have recently found a new crochet blogger that puts out extremely easy to follow tutorials.  Hopeful Honey is the name of the blog and you can find her on Facebook and YouTube.  I’ll post her links at the end of this tutorial so you can check out what all she has to offer.  To create this baby blanket I made I used her video tutorial of the Crunch Stitch that I have shared below.  Make sure to watch the video so you know how to create the stitch used for this pattern.  When you have finished watching the video keep reading to learn how to make this blanket.

Supplies

  • 2 Skeins of Bernat Baby Sport Yarn
  • Crochet Hook H – 5.00 MM
    • I really love the Boye brand ergonomic hooks with the rubber grip handles.  They are the most comfortable crochet hooks I have found and I can crochet for hours without any wrist or hand pain.
  • 2 Packs of Quilt Binding – Optional
    • I didn’t want to crochet my border so I decided to use Quilt Binding on the edges.

Step One

Chain 127

Step Two

Insert hook in third chain from the hook as shown in the video and create a slip stitch.  Now make a half double crochet in the next stitch and then another slip stitch in the next chain.  Keep repeating the half double and slip stitch to the end of the row.

Step Three

Chain 2, turn your work, skip the first stitch and make a slip stitch into the second stitch from the hook.  Now make a half double crochet into the next stitch and repeat alternating a slip stitch and a half double crochet stitch.

Step Four

Repeat step four until you have reached your desired length.

Step Five

Tie off your yarn and weave in the ends.

Step Six – Optional

This step is optional because how you finish the edge of your new baby blanket is entirely up to you.  You can choose to sew on quilt binding like I did or you can crochet a border.  You can also just leave it as is if you like how it looks.  For me I did make some mistakes on the edges and it’s way easier to cover that up by sewing on a border than it is by trying to crochet one.

Conclusion
I hope you have enjoyed this free stitch tutorial!  Make sure to follow me on Facebook for more great tutorials and patterns!

U-NEED-A Crafty Creation
U-NEED-A Crafty Creation

Hopeful Honey

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/hopefulhoney/

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5RLwRpjDtCGdgeY294ZLPQ

Website: http://www.hopefulhoney.com/p/crochet-basics.html

Leave a Reply

