Free Tutorials & Patterns · Shop

Textured Berry Stitch Tutorial

Introduction

This is a stitch that my mom found in a book she bought when she was first learning how to crochet.  She took a picture of it and sent it to me so I could try it out.  I really love the look and feel of this stitch.  The first thing that I made with it was a petal pink 40″ x 40″ baby receiving blanket.  I have changed up the directions to make it easy to read and follow and the picture shown was taken when I was crocheting the baby blanket I made.  If you would like to know how I made the baby blanket check back here and I will share the link to the pattern once it is posted!  If you have any questions about this stitch just ask them in the comment section below and I will do my best to answer them!

Yarn Used: Red Heart Super Saver Jumbo Yarn in Petal Pink
Hook: H-5.00 MM

Starting Chain

Chain and even number of stitches

Row 1

  • 1 Single Crochet in the 4th chain from the hook
  • 1 Double Crochet in the next chain
  • 1 Single Crochet in the next chain
  • Continue row by repeating the pattern of alternating Single and Double Crochet until you reach the end of the row

Row 2

  • Turn Your Work
  • Chain 3 (counts as a double crochet)
  • Skip the 1st stitch
  • 1 Single Crochet in the next Double Crochet
  • 1 Double Crochet in the next Single Crochet
  • Continue row by repeating the pattern of alternating Single and Double Crochet until you reach the end of the row

Row 3+

  • Repeat row 2 until you have reached the desired length

Conclusion

If you try out this stitch please let us know what you think about it in the comment section below.  If you would like to submit a picture of what you made with this stitch to be shared on this post you can send it via e-mail to uneedacraftycreation@gmail.com using TEXTURED BERRY STITCH in the subject line.  If you like my blog make sure to subscribe so you can be notified about new tutorials and products I have coming out :-).

 

Leave a Reply

