Blog · Reviews

Red Heart Strata Yarn Review

Introduction

Hi everyone and welcome back to my blog!  I recently started learning how to crochet and I got my mom hooked on it too lol.  I bought both of us the teach yourself to crochet kits at Wal-Mart and we have been picking it up pretty fast.  Since we live 3.5 hours away from one another and can’t practice together in person we have gotten into the habit of sharing cool patterns and tutorials that we find on the web via Facebook.  I am going to be attending a local vendor event soon and I was looking for ideas of what to make that was fast and would sell well.  My mom gave me the idea of making crochet choker necklaces after she saw a pattern for it somewhere.  I looked it up and found a good video that taught me the basics of how to put one together and then played with it for awhile until I had a pattern I loved.  The biggest difference between my choker necklaces and the ones I have seen online though are the type of yarn that is used.  For the most part everyone was using 100% cotton thread yarn like the Bernat Handicrafter yarn.  I had seen the Red Heart Strata yarn at Wal-Mart beforeand I loved the way it looked and felt.  I thought it was much softer than the cotton yarn and that it would make the perfect, comfortable choker necklace.  It turned out I was right!

The Review

The first thing I want to mention is how much I love this yarn!  It is so soft to the touch and it glides right though your fingers like silk.  It is a number 5 bulky weight yarn and it is made of 75% Acrylic and 24% Nylon.  I know the Red Heart Super Saver Yarn has a reputation for being cheap and scratchy but the strata yarn isn’t anything like the super save kind.  It’s also really easy to work with and a nice perk is that it doesn’t split like acrylic and cotton yarn.  With it being so silky and soft it makes it so easy to get the crochet hook into the stitches too and it doesn’t get stuck.  I can’t tell you how many times my wrist and my hands have started killing me because I couldn’t get my hook into my stitches and I was having to force it in and tug it back out pretty forcefully.  The hook size that is recommended for this yarn is 8 MM but since I was making necklaces and I wanted my stitches to be small I used a 4.25 MM hook.  It made nice small and tight stitches but it was still good and pliable and didn’t get that super stiff feel and look to it.  The chokers I made with it are so soft and they feel really comfortable against my skin.  No rubbing or chafing or scratching at all :-).  This yarn would make some really comfortable tank tops, camisoles, shirts, shawls, and scarves too.  I wouldn’t recommend making anything too big out of it though because each skein only comes with 95 yards for $3.00 (current price at my local Wal-Mart).  You would end up spending a ton of money on yarn if you tried to make a bigger project with it like a blanket.  Overall I am very satisfied with the Red Heart Strata yarn and I would highly recommend it to anyone considering giving it a try.

Conclusion

Thank you for visiting my blog and taking the time to read my review.  I hope it helped you make a decision about using this yarn for your own project.  If you would like to share your experience with the Red Heart Strata yarn make sure to leave a comment in the comment section below.  You can also submit photos of your projects that you make with it if you would like to have them featured on this page.  Photos can be sent to uneedacraftycreation@gmail.com with the subject line RED HEART STRATA YARN REVIEW.  Happy Crocheting!!

Leave a Reply

