Blog · Crochet Basics for Beginners · Free Tutorials & Patterns

Crochet Basics

Introduction

Hello and welcome back to my blog!!  I share a lot of DIY tutorials & patterns (free & paid), but one thing I have skipped so far is learning the basics of crocheting.  I have posted a few crochet patterns recently as well as some different stitches that I have learned and I plan on posting a ton more over time.  So, needless to say I really should post the basics for the beginners like me.  I learned how to crochet by following a blogger that my mom found on Facebook.  I was struggling to keep my edges even and I wasn’t really sure where the last stitch was in a row.  I had yet to master a single stitch with even edges.  My mom knew I was struggling and she had surpassed me since I bought her her first crochet hook set with a book.  I had showed her how to make a slip knot, hold her hook and yarn, and make a single crochet.  She had more time on her hands then I did for a little bit and she had learned a lot more by the time I pulled out my hooks again to give it a go.  The video that she shared with me from Hopeful Honey is what finally inspired me to try again.  The video was a tutorial on how to crochet the crunch stitch and it was so easy to follow that I finally started seeing what I had been doing wrong all this time.  For those of you that need that help on mastering the basics like I did I am going to share some of her videos for you below.  I’ll also post out a link to her website and Facebook page for you all so that you can keep up with the new things she posts.  I don’t feel the need to remake and post my own videos considering she does them so well.  I would rather devote my time to making more patterns and learning new stitches to share with all.  With that being said lets get to it and learn how to crochet!!!

How To Make A Slip Knot

How To Crochet The Chain Stitch

How To Crochet The Slip Stitch

How To Crochet The Single Crochet

How To Crochet The Half Double Crochet

How To Crochet The Double Crochet

The Triple Crochet

How To Crochet The Double Triple Crochet

Conclusion

The videos above are all of the basic crochet stitches that you should learn first to get a good grasp of how to crochet.  I recommend learning them in order, but once you have mastered the Slip Stitch, Single Crochet and Double Crochet then you should be able to learn some of the other stitches that Hopeful Honey posts.  She has quite a few that are just combinations of the Single Crochet, Double Crochet, and Slip Stitch.  Some examples of a couple of my favorites are the lemon peel stitch and the crunch stitch.  I’m going to post those videos for you below as well.  If you would like more awesome tutorials from Hopeful Honey make sure to like her Facebook Page and subscribe to her blog.

Hopeful Honey

Facebook Page:  https://www.facebook.com/hopefulhoney/

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5RLwRpjDtCGdgeY294ZLPQ

Website: http://www.hopefulhoney.com/

The Crunch Stitch

The Lemon Peel Stitch

U-NEED-A Crafty Creation
U-NEED-A Crafty Creation
Leave a Reply

